Forgetful Friday’s

I have forgotten three fun fact Friday’s in the midst of well…having fun. Bear with me.

One: After not having peanut butter for around two months, I gave in to buying the overpriced Spanish version called Capitán Maní. I finished the jar after four glutinous sessions consisting of me spreading it on anything I could find. Cookies, bananas, fingers…que vergüenza (what shame).

image

A nice creepy/blurry shot of my old best friend.

Two: My host family had never heard of pancakes. After quite the informative description of them sounding something like, “They are like um a crepe but big. They are like a dessert, but are a breakfast food. They are sweet and soft and delicious. You must eat them with a lot of butter and a sauce (didn’t know the word for syrup). This sauce is really sweet and like the pancakes are a circle….” they still of course had no idea what I was talking about. That is when I had to whip out my cellphone, because you know, it is completely normal and necessary to have a plethora of pancake pictures in your pocket at all times. The conversation following their first time seeing a pancake:

Host mom: You eat that for breakfast?

Me: All the time.

Host mom: But that is a dessert.

Me: Not in America it’s not. 🙂

721

These are the photos they saw of pancakes. Yes, I made them. They were caramel apple pancakes. Here is the recipe I used: http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/2012/09/11/caramel-apple-pancakes/

Three: The people in Cadiz, including my host family, love to eat shrimp with the heads and eyes still on them. They don’t actually eat the heads or eyes, but they do rip off the tail, head, and body before popping the shrimp into their mouths. Then (best part), they suck out the goodies from inside the head. My first time watching this I imagine my face looked something like :(. I never really ate seafood growing up and had always avoided it before I came to Spain. I promised myself that once in Cádiz, a very seafood oriented place, I would try it all. So when my host mom handed me a shrimp for the first time I was more than willing to try it, but sadly very unknowing of how. I whispered to her at our table full of her Spanish relatives “I don’t know what to do.” She then giggled and grabbed it back from me and in a mess of slimy, seafood fingers slid off the eyes, cracked off the head and tail, then peeled off the outer shell of the body. I sat there frozen wondering what the next step was. My host mom motioned for me to just throw it in my mouth and eat it. So that’s what I did. The whole family had begun to watch and burst out laughing as my lips pursed and my chewing became slower and slower. My host mom gave me a napkin. And that is where my first time eating shrimp came to an end. I told her it tasted like the sea and they all nodded, flicking black eyes off their fingers “obviously”.

540689_10200463893989369_835277887_n

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

